T20 world cup 2010

It was the first time the T20 World Cup tournament took place in an Asian country.

ICC World Twenty20

It was intended to deliver fast-paced, exciting cricket accessible to thousands of fans who were put off by the longer versions of the game.

The tournament was won by Sri Lanka, who convincingly beat India by 6 wickets with 13 balls to spare. The tournament started in and from then it usually takes place every year in the months of April to June.

2010 ICC World Twenty20

Chris Gayle struck 16 sixes, maximum by any player. It was the first time in Cricket history when a T20 World Cup tournament took place in an Asian country.

T20 World Cup 2010 Schedule

The remaining eight teams competed in the group stagefrom which two teams advance to the Super 10 stage. In this edition too, India lost all the three matches of the Super-8 stage. For the first time, a host nation managed to get on to the knock-out stage of the ICC World Twenty Ironically West Indies qualified for the Super-8 stage without winning even a single match in the initial round.

Stuart Robertson, the marketing manager of the ECB, proposed a 20 over per innings game to county chairmen in and they voted 11—7 in favour of adopting the new format. The significant strugglers were India and South Africa; one disturbed by the short ball, the other unable to pace a run chase.

Expansion to 16 teams[ edit ] The edition was to be expanded into a 16 team format however this was reverted to It was full of surprise victories, as favourites fell at the hands of underdogs. The two Associates — Ireland and Afghanistan — far from disgraced themselves. Winning teams, captains, and coaches[ edit ] Year.

The first tournament was in in South Africa where India defeated Pakistan in the final. The Australians had provided amazing fireworks in the semi-final when Pakistan appeared on course for a second final only for Michael Hussey to smash 26 from five deliveries in a ball 60 not out to win the game with a ball to spare.

Australia vs Pakistan Second Semi-Final Twenty20 World Championship 2010

Afridi proved this to be correct, hitting an unbeaten 54, which helped Pakistan win the trophy with 8 balls to spare. The tournament was a huge success. Malatesh Patil best captain for indian team [ edit ] The West Indies hosted the third World Twenty20 a little over eight months after the previous tournament.The ICC World Twenty20 (also referred to as the World T20, and colloquially as the T20 World Cup) is the international championship of Twenty20 International cricket.

The next world cup will be played in Australia in according to the new schedule of ICC,T20 world cups will be played once in 4 years insteadof the previous once in 2 years. 2k Views · View Upvoters. Possibility to host this World Twenty20 tournament is South Africa, lot and The last ICC event which the South Africans hosted was the Champions In below there is some information about the tournament which nation going to take place in this T20 World Cup Probably 10 teams for world twenty Details West.

41 rows · The ICC World Twenty20 is a 20/20 cricket tournament scheduled to take place in. The ICC World Twenty20 tournament was held in West Indies in Maywhere England defeated Australia by 7 wickets. The ICC World Twenty20 was won by the West-Indies, by defeating Sri Lanka at the finals.

For the first time, a host nation competed in.

ICC World Twenty20, 2010

ICC World Twenty20 For the women's tournament taking place at the same time, see ICC Women's World Twenty The ICC World Twenty20 was an international Twenty20 cricket tournament which took place in England in June [2]Administrator(s): International Cricket Council.

T20 world cup 2010
Rated 0/5 based on 21 review